Appendix 2: Organisational Structure of the Church of England

The main bodies referenced in this report, and involved with the implementation of its recommendations are outlined below:

- The Church of England is under the jurisdiction of the Archbishops of Canterbury and York and is the overarching body of the Anglican Church in England.
- The legislative body for the Church is the General Synod, an assembly of bishops, clergy and laity. The General Synod creates the laws of the Church.
- The Church of England is divided into Dioceses; each Diocese has a Diocesan Synod that is the Governing body.
- A Deanery is a grouping of parishes and a geographical subdivision of a Diocese, led by a bishop. The use of the term 'Deanery' in this report more commonly refers to the Deanery Synod, which in Framland is a statutory body and legal entity in its own right.
- The Parochial Church Councils (PCCs) are the administrative bodies at a local church level and most (those with a turnover of less than £100,000 per annum) are recognised as excepted charities by the Charity Commission (This excepted status is due to change from April 2021)
- The Diocesan Advisory Committee (DAC) is a statutory body which exists to advise on the care of church buildings and their contents. The committee provides advice to PCCs throughout the process of planning and enacting physical changes to their church buildings. The DAC also exists to advise the Chancellor who determines faculty applications. In this process they are obliged to consult with all the relevant statutory bodies external to the church (e.g. The War Memorials Commission or Historic England). The committee will have knowledge of historic buildings, art and archaeology, as well as of the liturgy and worship of the Church of England. The DAC are in turn supported by a team of consultants and specialist advisors.¹

¹ https://southwell.anglican.org/Church-life/Churches/your-Church-building/diocesan-advisory-committee/