Diocesan Safeguarding Oversight Group

The Diocesan Safeguarding Oversight Group (DSOG) is the governance body with responsibility for safeguarding.  The purpose of DSOG, as expressed in its Terms of Reference, is:

  • To provide independent advice, expertise and challenge on safeguarding policies, procedures and practices to the diocesan bishop and other senior clergy and officials. 
  • To ensure the diocese has safeguarding policies, working practices and training arrangements in place which are consistent with statutory requirements and the House of Bishops’ policy and practice guidance and that these arrangements are operating effectively.

Membership is a mix of representatives from external agencies, including from the statutory services, and diocesan and Cathedral officers.  DSOG meets four times a year and full Terms of Reference can be downloaded below.

Current membership as at October 2023 is as follows:

Adrienne Plunkett – Independent Chair
Ruth Lake – Leicester City Council, Adult Services
Des Hearnshaw – Leicestershire Police
Kaye Knowles – Probation Service
Shabnum Popat – Quetzal, a Leicester based counselling service for survivors of sexual abuse.
Julie Croysdale – Parish Safeguarding representative
Claire Wood – Archdeacon of Loughborough, Bishop’s Lead for Safeguarding
Rachael Spiers – Diocesan Safeguarding Adviser
Karen Rooms – Acting Dean of Leicester Cathedral
Andy Brockbank – Director of Operations and Governance
James Pickersgill – Bishop’s Chaplain
Florence Gildea – Social Policy Adviser to the Bishop of Leicester

Download: Terms of Reference

Powered by Church Edit