General Synod

The General Synod is the national decision-making body of the Church of England.

Issues such as finance, policies and practice, church legislation, liturgy and Church of England doctrine are debated and voted upon there. It meets twice each year in either London or York. 

Both lay and ordained members of churches from across the country are elected from dioceses and represent a wide range of views. The two Archbishops and all the Diocesan Bishops are also part of the meeting.

Matters passed through General Synod will affect all Church of England dioceses, so it’s important to keep in touch with the General Synod agenda. The General Synod pages on the national Church of England website displays agendas and papers. You can also watch some debates live online.

Leicester’s General Synod members

Anyone can contact the General Synod members from the Diocese of Leicester to ask about what happens there, or, if there’s an issue you believe should be brought to the agenda for debate, they can advise on how this might happen.

Following the General Synod elections, the following people were chosen to represent the Diocese of Leicester.

House of Clergy

House of Laity

This church website is powered by Church Edit | Privacy Notice