Jon Walker elected to General Synod

Following a closely fought election to fill the lay place on General Synod vacated by Jonathan Cryer, Jon Walker was duly elected when votes were counted on 13 November.

Jon is a longstanding member of Emmanuel Church in Loughborough and is also a member of Diocesan Synod and Akeley East Deanery Synod.  His term of office will run until the summer of 2021 when the delayed General Synod elections will be held and he will be immediately busy as he attends the virtual Synod meeting in late November.  He joins Shayne Ardron and Rhian Parsons who are the other elected lay members of General Synod from this Diocese.

The vote count was the first, and almost certainly the last, to be conducted by Zoom.  Online voting is being introduced for the 2021 elections and it is hoped that this will make the job of counting votes easier!

The election sheet has been posted on the diocesan website as the election rules demand. You can view it here. 



This church website is powered by Church Edit | Privacy Notice